Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Raghuram Rajan's name in the list of probable candidates for Nobel Prize in Economics for 2017
India might soon have another Nobel Prize in its bag. Raghuram Rajan, the former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) could be awarded a Nobel Prize in Economics.

The news is based on a report by the Wall Street Journal which claimed that Rajan had featured in the list of people who could be awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics this year. The name of the winner(s) of the Nobel Prize in Economics will be announced on Monday in Stockholm, Sweden.

Rajan has featured among the six economists whose names have come as 'probable winners' on the list compiled by Clarivate Analytics. Clarivate Analytics is a company famous for making lists of possible Nobel Prize winners.

As per reports, Rajan could be awarded the prize for his "contributions illuminating the dimensions of decisions in corporate finance."

The people who have been featured on the list are Colin Camerer (California Institute of Technology) and George Loewenstein (Carnegie Mellon University), Robert Hall (Stanford University), Michael Jensen (Harvard University), Stewart Myers (MIT) and Raghuram Rajan of the University of Chicago.

Rajan is a graduate from IIT Delhi and has served as visiting professor at Stockholm School of Economics, at Kellogg School of Management, and at MIT Sloan School of Management. He has also served as the Chief Economist at the International Monetary Fund and the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India. At present, he is the Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance at the Booth School of Business, University of Chicago.

If Rajan wins the prize, it will make the assumptions clear, but in case he doesn't, we will not be able to guess whether he was in the list of nominees for the prize or not. This is because the names of the nominees are kept secret for 50 years after the name of the winner is announced. 

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.