Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Neiphiu Rio sworn in as new Chief Minister of Nagaland
Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was today sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Nagaland. Governor PB Acharaya administered the oath of office to Rio at a ceremony held on Thursday at the Kohima Local Ground, reported news agency ANI.

Those in attendance at the oath-taking ceremony included Minister of State (Home) Kiren Rijiju, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, BJP President Amit Shah, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and BJP National Secretary Ram Madhav.

A source from Raj Bhavan told PTI yesterday that PM Modi had expressed his inability to attend the event.

The NDPP, led by former three-time Chief Minister Rio, had won 18 seats while the BJP secured 12 seats in the recently concluded Assembly elections in the Northeastern state. The Rio government would also enjoy support from one JD (U) MLA and an independent. The NPF, led by former Chief Minister TR Zeliang, had won 26 seats in the 60-member state Assembly.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.